RIP Wimpy

He wasn’t wimpy that’s for sure.  He was strong, a fast runner, and good natured.

Today we had to put down our old horse, Wimpy.  His hoof was hurting so badly he could barely walk.  At one time, long before we got him, Wimpy was a champion.  By the time Wimpy came into our lives, he was tired, but still a good enough horse to learn how to ride on.  He lived a good long life, at 23 older than most horses hope to last.

First I learned and then my husband Kevin.  Kevin was the one who ended up loving the sport and rode a couple of times every week.   Today Wimpy could hardly get into the trailer.  So good bye Wimpy.  Why is it children and animals always bring a tear to your eye?

1 Response to “RIP Wimpy”


  1. 1 Gina September 18, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Why’d you have to make me cry Jane? You reminded me of my Quarter Horse Obie.
    I got him when he was 5 years old. He was such a special horse that I trailered him all the way from Pennsylvania to Texas when I moved here. He lived to his late twenties. The last month or so was so difficult. I’ll never forget him.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

