Texas’ Finest

Is this another case of a young talented athlete getting in over his head and being used by the very people who are supposed to help him?

Two years ago, I interviews UT quarterback Vince Young.  He was the winner of the prestigious Davy O’Brien Award.  He was refreshing — full of enthusiasm and seemed to have his feet planted firmly on the ground.

Unfortunately, I ran across an article in the New York Times a few days ago that said Young has some serious problems now.  His therapist said Young talked of quitting football, and has even mentioned suicide.

When Young was in Ft Worth a relative was handling his affairs.  She was dedicated to his best interests.  I called and talked to her yesterday and she is distraught about what has happened. She says Vince got in over his head with people who are using him for his status and money.

Hopefully I’ll talk with Vince in the next few days and find out what’s really going on.  I’ll keep you posted.

1 Response to “Texas’ Finest”


  1. 1 Jennifer September 23, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    I hope Vince is doing well, no matter what. I am a very proud alum of the University of Texas and it saddens me that this is being brought out into the open. I do hope that if he is having issues that he takes care of that and himself, first and foremost. I look forward to hearing your story when you find out. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

