Jane’s Take: 25 Years On NBC 5

Saturday night my friends and co-workers will gather to celebrate the 25 years that I have been fortunate to anchor NBC5 news.

If you’re a viewer, you only see a few faces on our newscast; reporters, occassionally photographers, and most often the anchors. What you may not realize is that there are dozens and dozens of dedicated people behind the scenes, without whom our news would never get on the air. The technical staff that physically gets the product on the broadcast signal, the writers who spend hours crafting stories, the producers who have the tough job of deciding which stories are relevant to our viewers, and the studio crew who tells you when your hair is out of place or you have lipstick on your teeth. Those are just a few of the people who do the jobs that get the news on the air every single day. The news never takes a vacation.

I’ve been very blessed in my career. I came to Texas never expecting that I would be able to make a home here, raise a family here, and spend a wonderful career with people
I truly have come to love. The NBC5 newsroom is filled with some of the most talented, dedicated, and genuine people I could ever hope to work with. Many days, spending time with my NBC5 friends is the best part of going to work!

So as I take stock of the years I have been on the air at KXAS-TV, I just want to say thank you to all the people who have helped me every day, all along the way. Thank you will never
be enough, but it’s a start.

2 Responses to “Jane’s Take: 25 Years On NBC 5”


  1. 1 shelton64 February 5, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    I know that I am reading this quit late, but congratulations on your 25 yrs. I always insist on watching channel 5 news and weather. I became hooked on channel 5 when Harold Taft was doing the weather. Now I enjoy each one of you, and I appreciate all your hard work.

  2. 2 Paul March 7, 2008 at 5:51 am

    I really do like NBC 5 and like the other poster, it’s kinda late. However, I do appreciate you celebrating more than 25 yrs on NBC 5. Besides, you and Mike Snyder are one of the two stations that I watch in the metroplex, (The other being WFAA-TV) but KXAS-TV is one of the best! BTW, did you know that another anchor from Sacramento looks exactly like you? It’s true! Teri Cox from KTXL FOX 40 in Sacramento looks exactly like ou. Bu IMO, you look so much better than Teri. LOL. Anyway, keep up the good work and celebrate 25 more years!


Leave a Reply

