The Fifth Grader and the First Lady

I’ve been fortunate to interview First Lady Laura Bush a number of times. So when NBC5 got the opportunity to talk to the First Lady and daughter Jenna about their new children’s book, we decided to do something different, and send a child! Our pick: Sarah Gordon, reporter Scott Gordon’s daughter.

Here were my five questions for Sarah:

1) What were you most nervous about?

“I was nervous I would mess up. I knew all my friends would be watching,”

2) How did you come up with your questions?

“They just kind of came to me. My class came up with some too.”

3) What did you think of the First Lady?

” She was what I expected. She was very nice and answered all my questions. In person she looks just like she does on TV.”

4) What did you wear and how did you decide?

“When I found out I was going to interview the First Lady I asked my Mom to get my a new outfit. I wore silver sandals, a white skirt with blue and black flowers, and a black top. I don’t usually get so dressed up but for this I had to make an exception.”

5) What would you have been doing if you hadn’t been interviewing Mrs. Bush?

“I probably would have been outside playing or doing homework.”

As you can imagine, Scott says this was the opportunity of a lifetime for Sarah. It’s an experience she’ll never forget! By the way, the book is called “Read All About It” and it’s on store shelves now.

0 Responses to “The Fifth Grader and the First Lady”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

